top of page

So, about the lion

So, in my last post, I teased an image of a lion. The actual image is a picture of that lion and a woman standing below the lion roaring back up at the him. I've used that picture a few times on twitter and on Facebook. For me, that picture means several things, but most of all- strength. Strength in adversity, strength in character, strength in conviction. What does that picture of the lion roaring mean to you?I recently lost my dad. I wish I could say I was deeply saddened by this and you are probably saying- "What the heck is wrong with this guy?", in short, nothing, but the long answer is a lot. You see, my whole life growing up he was the lion in my life and I had no strength to stand up to him. Do I wish I would have had the opportunity to roar back, nah, not really. He would never have accepted the fact that he had done me wrong. He was self-centered, unloving and uncaring. He was the type of guy that would tell you all he does for you, like roof over your head, food on the table, you know the basic stuff. Well kudos to you dad, you provided me the basics, but you know what, a father's love is also a basic thing in life and you didn't even do that. I know, I sound bitter, but that comes with the territory, but here is what I am not- angry, sad, or lonely. I am a better dad then you ever were. I am a better husband then you ever were, and I am a better man in every sense of the word then you ever were.


Whew! Glad I got that out. Now, it's your turn. What or who is your lion in your life? Do you have the strength to fight back, to press on, to be better than before? Yes, you do! Now go out there and live your life!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page