top of page

The road we walk and the hats we wear

Hey there! How are you doing? Me, I can't complain, not really. So, have you ever gone through life wandering around, bumping into things, metaphorically speaking that is; that's kinda how I've been feeling for a while. A couple of years ago, things changed for me a bit. I felt like I was literally in a pinball machine and I was not getting any points. Prior to a couple of years ago, I was enjoying life, for the most part. I was working and raising a family and at some point I decided I wanted to be an author. Boy, did things change for me! I submitted my first manuscript thanks to a friend and most certainly my wife, who consequently joined me in becoming an author.


So, my first real taste of being an author came after my first full length novel came out- Kindred Souls: Voyage of the Scotsmen. I was pumped! I now had something that was even more ecxciting than anything else I had done. This is also where I wrote my first adult scene and by adult scene I meant s-e-x! What's that you say, a guy writing a sex scene? Well, it was not as easy as you would think, not to mention writing it in a way that wasn't like watching late night Cinemax on a Friday night. It was then that I realized I was working on a romance novel of sorts and not just and adventure novel. How's that go you ask? Well, it was very interesting to see the reactionon people's faces when I told them what genre I worte in. Go back to the sex scene you say, sure. When I wrote it, I obviously by then knew what my characters looked like, so when it came down to the actual scene I knew what I wanted them to be doing and so forth and so on, but also I had not set out to write a Penthouse forum type of book. I actually got my wife's approval after I worte the scene. She said I wrote it very tactifully and with just enough detail the reader could figure out what was going on. Obviously, but still. I had never set out to write those kinds of books!


Fast forward a short time later, I had decided to donate two copies of my short story fiction book to both high school libraries. It wasn't too long after that that word had spread that I was invited to speak at a high school I work at here in town. Oh yeah, did I forget to mention, I also wear the IT hat too? Yep, I work for a local public system in the IT department. Anyway, I started my day off speaking to around thirty high schoolers about being an author and having a secret identity of sorts. Some to most of the kids in the room had the look on their face that they would rather be at home asleep, but that was okay, I brought snacks! I also got to participate in a local author event at our public library. Now that was fun! Consequently, I wore my Scottish kilt. My first book(referenced above) was considered a Scottish Historical Romance, so I saw an opportunity to wear my favorite outfit! I received a lot of looks and second glances! Over all, the event was a success.


Anyway, I wanted to share with you this piece of advice, the Universe, life, karma, or whatever you call it, is a never ending path to the multi-verse and upon that path you will run into many and I mean MANY obstacles. The best thing you can do is pull up around you your best support group and try to find happiness in no matter what you do or go through. Life will get hard, sometimes unbearable, but there can be some silver cloud lilnings throughought



Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page